Botswana Housing Corporation
Established by an Act of Parliament (CAP 74:03) of 1970; primarily involved in property development and estate management services. The FY2025 report describes BHC as Government's Single Housing Authority (SiHA).
- Type
- Parastatal
- Sector
- Housing & Property
- Abbreviation
- BHC
- Established
- —
- Financial year end
- Mar
- Reporting currency
- Pula (BWP)
- Reports published
- 6
- Latest year
- FY2025
Key intelligence
Chief Executive
Not reported
Board Chair
Not reported
Historical trends
From 5 annual reports. Latest: Botswana Housing Corporation Annual Report 2024/25p. 30
From 5 annual reports. Latest: Botswana Housing Corporation Annual Report 2024/25p. 30
From 5 annual reports. Latest: Botswana Housing Corporation Annual Report 2024/25p. 30
From 5 annual reports. Latest: Botswana Housing Corporation Annual Report 2024/25p. 30
Five-year summary
| Metric | FY2021 | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Revenue | 760.0 | 701.5 | 553.1 | 525.2* | 739.5 |
| Operating costs | 271.9C | 288.7C | 323.4C | 351.9C | 412.5C |
| Profit before tax | 1.8 | 72.2 | 30.2* | 42.4* | (101.7)* |
| Net profit | 1.1 | 64.1 | 23.1 | 29.2* | (104.6) |
| Total assets | 3,041.7 | 2,895.4 | 2,775.5 | 2,850.7* | 2,612.7 |
| Total liabilities | 1,509.7C | 1,299.2C | 1,156.3C | 1,202.3C | 1,069.0C |
| Total equity | 1,532.0* | 1,596.1 | 1,619.2* | 1,648.4* | 1,543.8 |
| Employees(people) | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 299* |
| Specific to this organisation, not comparable with others | |||||
| Total operating expenses (financial review) | 241.0* | 258.0* | Not reported | 379.0* | Not reported |
| Approved establishment (posts)(positions) | Not reported | 316* | 316* | 316* | Not reported |
C calculated from printed lines (see below). R restated. * see note. Hover a value for its source page.
How calculated figures are built (10)
Operating costs, FY2021 = sum of 4 printed lines: 271.9m
- Repairs and maintenance42,462
- Employee benefit expenses138,195
- Depreciation and amortisation30,488
- Other expenses60,761
Operating costs, FY2022 = sum of 4 printed lines: 288.7m
- Repairs and maintenance50,612
- Employee benefit expenses141,617
- Depreciation and amortisation30,285
- Other expenses66,203
Operating costs, FY2023 = sum of 4 printed lines: 323.4m
- Repairs and maintenance62,111
- Employee benefit expenses142,842
- Depreciation and amortisation41,461
- Other expenses77,014
Operating costs, FY2024 = sum of 4 printed lines: 351.9m
- Repairs and maintenance65,235
- Employee benefit expenses153,663
- Depreciation and amortisation44,073
- Other expenses88,975
Operating costs, FY2025 = sum of 4 printed lines: 412.5m
- Repairs and maintenance110,682
- Employee benefit expenses171,306
- Depreciation and amortisation36,414
- Other expenses94,062
Total liabilities, FY2021 = sum of 2 printed lines: 1,509.7m
- Total non-current liabilities639,149
- Total current liabilities870,538
Total liabilities, FY2022 = sum of 2 printed lines: 1,299.2m
- Total non-current liabilities611,638
- Total current liabilities687,584
Total liabilities, FY2023 = sum of 2 printed lines: 1,156.3m
- Total non-current liabilities581,401
- Total current liabilities574,874
Total liabilities, FY2024 = sum of 2 printed lines: 1,202.3m
- Total non-current liabilities551,842
- Total current liabilities650,464
Total liabilities, FY2025 = sum of 2 printed lines: 1,069.0m
- Total non-current liabilities125,764
- Total current liabilities943,201
Notes on the figures (23)
- Revenue, FY2024. FY2024 report: column headers on this page read "2023 2024" but the first value column carries FY2024 figures (cross-checked against FY2025 report comparatives and FY2023 report); header appears transposed in the source.
- Operating costs, FY2021. BHC does not print a single operating-costs line. Standard value derived consistently as Repairs and maintenance + Employee benefit expenses + Depreciation and amortisation + Other expenses (excludes cost of sales and impairment). This matches the "Operating Expenses (excl. impairment)" definition BHC used in its FY2025 BSE abridged results (FY2025 P412.5m; FY2024 P351.9m). Narrative "Total operating expenses" figures in the reports use different definitions year to year - see org-specific metric reported_total_operating_expenses_narrative.
- Operating costs, FY2022. BHC does not print a single operating-costs line. Standard value derived consistently as Repairs and maintenance + Employee benefit expenses + Depreciation and amortisation + Other expenses (excludes cost of sales and impairment). This matches the "Operating Expenses (excl. impairment)" definition BHC used in its FY2025 BSE abridged results (FY2025 P412.5m; FY2024 P351.9m). Narrative "Total operating expenses" figures in the reports use different definitions year to year - see org-specific metric reported_total_operating_expenses_narrative. FLAG/RESTATEMENT: the FY2023 report (PDF p.88) revised FY2022 presentation of impairments; FY2022 Other expenses shown there as (68,192) vs (66,203) here, which would give 290,706.
- Operating costs, FY2023. BHC does not print a single operating-costs line. Standard value derived consistently as Repairs and maintenance + Employee benefit expenses + Depreciation and amortisation + Other expenses (excludes cost of sales and impairment). This matches the "Operating Expenses (excl. impairment)" definition BHC used in its FY2025 BSE abridged results (FY2025 P412.5m; FY2024 P351.9m). Narrative "Total operating expenses" figures in the reports use different definitions year to year - see org-specific metric reported_total_operating_expenses_narrative.
- Operating costs, FY2024. BHC does not print a single operating-costs line. Standard value derived consistently as Repairs and maintenance + Employee benefit expenses + Depreciation and amortisation + Other expenses (excludes cost of sales and impairment). This matches the "Operating Expenses (excl. impairment)" definition BHC used in its FY2025 BSE abridged results (FY2025 P412.5m; FY2024 P351.9m). Narrative "Total operating expenses" figures in the reports use different definitions year to year - see org-specific metric reported_total_operating_expenses_narrative. FY2024 report: column headers on this page read "2023 2024" but the first value column carries FY2024 figures (cross-checked against FY2025 report comparatives and FY2023 report); header appears transposed in the source.
- Operating costs, FY2025. BHC does not print a single operating-costs line. Standard value derived consistently as Repairs and maintenance + Employee benefit expenses + Depreciation and amortisation + Other expenses (excludes cost of sales and impairment). This matches the "Operating Expenses (excl. impairment)" definition BHC used in its FY2025 BSE abridged results (FY2025 P412.5m; FY2024 P351.9m). Narrative "Total operating expenses" figures in the reports use different definitions year to year - see org-specific metric reported_total_operating_expenses_narrative.
- Profit before tax, FY2023. Directors' report in the same report (PDF p.81) states "a profit before taxation of P30,238,000" - P1k difference vs the statement (rounding); statement figure used.
- Profit before tax, FY2024. FY2024 report: column headers on this page read "2023 2024" but the first value column carries FY2024 figures (cross-checked against FY2025 report comparatives and FY2023 report); header appears transposed in the source.
- Profit before tax, FY2025. Label "(Loss)/profit before taxation" is printed on the line below the figures in the text layer.
- Net profit, FY2024. FY2024 report: column headers on this page read "2023 2024" but the first value column carries FY2024 figures (cross-checked against FY2025 report comparatives and FY2023 report); header appears transposed in the source.
- Total assets, FY2024. FY2024 report: column headers on this page read "2023 2024" but the first value column carries FY2024 figures (cross-checked against FY2025 report comparatives and FY2023 report); header appears transposed in the source.
- Total liabilities, FY2021. FLAG: FY2022 report comparative shows Total current liabilities 870,537 (customer deposits 14,051 vs 14,053) - P1k/P2k differences.
- Total liabilities, FY2024. FY2024 report: column headers on this page read "2023 2024" but the first value column carries FY2024 figures (cross-checked against FY2025 report comparatives and FY2023 report); header appears transposed in the source. FLAG: FY2025 report comparative shows Total non-current liabilities 551,843 (P1k rounding difference).
- Total equity, FY2021. FLAG: FY2022 report comparative (and statement of changes in equity) shows 1,532,004 (P1k rounding difference).
- Total equity, FY2023. FLAG: FY2024 report comparative shows 1,619,203 (P1k rounding difference).
- Total equity, FY2024. FY2024 report: column headers on this page read "2023 2024" but the first value column carries FY2024 figures (cross-checked against FY2025 report comparatives and FY2023 report); header appears transposed in the source.
- Employees, FY2025. Text continues "employees, which consists of 59%..." on the next text line. Date of count not stated (assumed at/around FY-end; not confirmed).
- Total operating expenses (financial review), FY2021. Narrative figure; appears to exclude depreciation and impairment.
- Total operating expenses (financial review), FY2022. Narrative figure; appears to exclude depreciation and impairment. Not comparable with FY2024 narrative definition.
- Total operating expenses (financial review), FY2024. Narrative figure (financial review). Appears to include depreciation and impairment (65.2+153.7+44.1+89.0+26.6). Not comparable with other years - kept org-specific.
- Approved establishment (posts), FY2022. "Establishment" = approved staff positions, NOT actual headcount; not mapped to standard metric "employees". Actual employee count for this year not stated in the report.
- Approved establishment (posts), FY2023. "Establishment" = approved staff positions, NOT actual headcount; not mapped to standard metric "employees". Actual employee count for this year not stated in the report.
- Approved establishment (posts), FY2024. "Establishment" = approved staff positions, NOT actual headcount; not mapped to standard metric "employees". Actual employee count for this year not stated in the report.
Annual reports
| Year | Report | Period | Pages | Status | Document |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FY2025 | Botswana Housing Corporation Annual Report 2024/25 | 1 Apr 2024 – 31 Mar 2025 | 62 | Published | Open PDF |
| FY2024 | BHC Annual Report 2024 ("Reimagining Housing Through Innovation") | 1 Apr 2023 – 31 Mar 2024 | 176 | Published | Open PDF |
| FY2023 | BHC Annual Report 2023 | 1 Apr 2022 – 31 Mar 2023 | 156 | Published | Open PDF |
| FY2022 | BHC Annual Report 2022 | 1 Apr 2021 – 31 Mar 2022 | 168 | Published | Open PDF |
| FY2021 | BHC Annual Report 2021 | 1 Apr 2020 – 31 Mar 2021 | 132 | Published | Open PDF |
| FY2020 | BHC Annual Report 2020 | — | 149 | Collected | Open PDF |